Quenault, Ase., n
6 sur une certaine quantité et celui apporté depuis, ct ontanée du charbon.— The
dis own, in trust or on conn Middleton’s sheds, warevor of Thomas Ruston had h receipts Appt had made y for Middleton, withont k The Ætna, XVII L. C.J,
acoipt as collateral security d as being tho property of ade the advances, In an bods, it is sufticient to estathe quantity claimed were , at the time of the insurere wholly burnt, without scribed in the warehouse
4, In the case of an insurance of a number of barrels of oil, purchased by the insured, but not actually identifiéd and separated from barrels of oil contained in the building in which the oil was stored, the insured has, nevertheless, an insurable interest as proprietor in the property sold. The verdict of a jury in favor of the insurance company based on a charge of the judge that the property in the oil did not, under the circumstances, pass to the insured, will be set aside and a new trial granted.— Mathewson & The Royal Insurance Co., XVI L, C.
2574. Tout changement dans l’usage ou l’état de la chose assurée, tels que restreints par la police, faite sans le consentement de l'assureur, par des moyens sur lesquels l'assuré a un contrôle, et qui augmente le risque, est une cause de nullité de la police. Si le changement n’augmente pas le risque, la police n’en est pas affectée.
3 Kent, 374—2 Phillips, c. 7,s. 2, 4 2, pp. 96 et suiv.— 2 Pardessus, n° 595.— Boudousquié, n° 119, p. 149.— 3 Pardessus, Dr. Com., n° 883.
Jurisp.—1. À policy of insuranceis vitiated by changes increasing the risk made in the buildings insured without legal notice to the insurers.— British Am, L. Co. vs Mutual Fire Ins. Co., I L. C. L. J., 95.
2, In the case of a fire policy of buildings described as dwellings, endorsed to the effect that any change of occupation by which the risk is increased, must be notified in writing to the insurance company and endorsed on the policy, and that in default thereof the insurance shall be null and void ; the change of occupation to a tavern, without notice to or consent of the company, does not render the policy void, when the jury state in their special findings that an intermediate change of occupation into a vinegar factory had been sanctioned by the company, and that the risk of the tavern was not greater than that of the vinegar factory.— Campbell vs Liverpool & London &c. Ins. Co., XIII EL, C. J., 309,
3, An insurance of goods described as being in n° 319 St. Paul street, will be held to cover the same goods although removed into the premises n° 315 adjoining, if the agent of the insurance company at the end of the first year of the insurance examined the premises and consented to a renewal of the policy. Such variation does not constitute a new contract, but only a slight change in the old contract approved of by the parties.— The question as to the consent ofthe company to such change of the placing of the goods was a matter of fact properly left to the jury.— The jury in giving their opinion, without being expressly asked the question, that the company had continued the risk after the agent’s visit to the premises, and by his not only not making any objection atthe time but actually renewing the risk without any increase, did not decide what was matter of law but only gave this as their reason for finding that the stock that had been insured was lost or damaged, and the jury had a right to give their reason for their finding.— Rolland vs The Citizen Ins. Co., XXI LC, d., 262. (En Rév.— Renversé en appel sur le principe que les allégués de la déclaration ne justifiaient pas la réponse donnée par le jury.)
4, Les Int., après avoir assuré leurs marchandises dans le magasin n° 272, ajoutèrent deux étages au magasin voisin, n° 273, et y transportèrent une partie de leur fona@s, Ils en donnèrent avis écrit aux Aputs, qui exigèrent une augmentation de prime, laquelle fut payée en échange d’un reçu interim. Quelques jours plus tard les Int, reçurent, sans faire d'observation, une nouvelle police qui référait au croquis des bâtisses annexé à la première demanda d'assurance des Int., lequel ne décrivait que le n° 272.—Jugé que le vrai sens de la demande d'assurance, de l'avis écrit et du reçu interim, lus ensemble, démontrait un contrat d'assurance entre les Int.et les Appts, couvrant les marchandises placées dans les étages ajoutés par les Int, au n° 273; et que, nonobstant l'acceptation par ceux-ci d’une police qui ne mentionnait pas les effets dans les étages ajoutés, les Int, avaient le droit d’être indemnisés pour la perte subie quant aux marchandises contenues dans les étages ajoutés.—Liverpool & London &c., Ins. Co, & Wyld, I RS, C., 604,
2575. Le montant de l'assurance ne fait aucune preuve quant à la valeur de l’objet assuré; cette valeur doit être prouvée de la
manière prescrite dans les conditions de la police et par les règles générales de la preuve, à moins qu’il n’y ait une évaluation spéciale dans la police.
2 Alauzet, 304.— Angell, Zns., 4 11.— 1 Bell, Com., 542 et 543,
Jurisp.—1. In insurance against fire the insurers pay the whole of any loss which does not exceed the amount insured, although the goods insured be of greater value.— Peddie vs Quebec Fire Insurance, Stuart’s Rep., 174.
2, Under à clause in a policy of insurance, that if there appear fraud in the claim made to a loss, or false swearing or affirmation in support thereof, the claimant shall forfeit all benefit under such policy, the Court will reject the claim of the policy-holder, if the company establish that the claim is unjust and fraudulent, and far in excess of the actual loss to the knowledge of'the policy-holder.— Grenier vs Monarch Fire & Life Ins. Co., III L. C, J., 100.
2%76. L'assurance devient nulle par la cession que l'assuré fait à un tiers de l'intérêt qu'il a dans la chose, à moins que ce transport n'ait lieu avec le consentement ou la participation de l’assureur.
La règle ci-dessus ne s'applique pas au cas de droits acquis à titre successif ou dans le cas spécifié en l’article qui suit. Elle est sujette aux dispositions contenues dans l’Acte concernant la faillite, 1864.
L’assuré a le droit de transporter la police avec la chose assurée sous les conditions qui y sont exprimées.
Code civil BC, art. 2482 et 2483.— Marshall, 803.— Angell, Zntr., 4 11, et #7 193 et suiv.—1 Arnould, 211.— Ellis, Z. & Æ Ins., 76 et 77.
L'Acte concernant la faillite, 1864, est maintenant remplacé par l'acte C3 Vict., ce. 16, intitulé: Acte de faillite de 1875, tel qu'amendé par 39 Vict., ce. 30 ct par 40 Vict. c. 41,
Jurisp.—1. L'intérêt du vendeur d’un immeuble, dans une police d’assurance contre le feu, etfectuée par le vendeur avant la vente, est transporté de plein droit à l'acquéreur par la signification de la vente à la compagnie. Ie paiement fait par la compagnie d'assurance au vendeur, sur une perte faite après la vente, d’une somme excédant la balance du prix d'achat restant due, profite à l’acquéreur, comme paiement de la balance.— Leclaire vs Crapser, V L. C. R., 487.
2, L, was cessionnuire of T, of bailleur de fonds claim on certain property, on which there were buildings sold by T. to C. Before said sale T. pe insurei said buildings for £600, huadred pounds of which, being the amount of purchase money paid by C., T. had transferred, in the usual manner with consent of insurer, to C., retaining the balance of the policy, £500, as security for payment of the balance of purchase money still due. ‘Fhe buildings while covered by this policy were destroyed by fire, and T. received the £500, balance of purchase money still due. He subsequently transferred his claim for purchase polie, being a larger sun: than the balance of money to L,, who brought this action.— Held that the sale of insured property extinguished the contract of insurance as between the insurer and the vendor: the profit of such insurance being vested in the vendee so soon as the insurer is notified of the sale, and acquiesces in it.— Leclaire vs Crapser, M. C, R., 18.
3 An assignee of a policy of insurance against loss by fire may rocover, without furnishing any statement of loss whatever.— Wilson vs State Fire Ins, Co., VII L, C. J., 223,
4, Une police d'assurance devient caduque par le transport de la matière assurée, à moins que ce transport ne soit fait avec le consentement exprès on tacite de l’assureur.— Forgie vs Royal Ins. Co. IR, C., 241,
5. Although A, is merely the agent of B., in obtaining from C, an advance of money on certain goods, yet if ho renders himself liable to ©, for.any loss which might arise after the sale of the goods, he has an insurable interest in the goods, and can therefor legally insure them in his own name to the fuli extent of the loan.— O'Connor vs The Imperial Ins. Co., XIV EL, C. J., 219,
6, Une police d'assurance ne peut être transportée que du consentement de
\ police et par les règles une évaluation spéciale
542 et 543,
rs pay the whole of any lo
ch the goods insured be of
tuart’s Rop., 174,
there appear fraud in the tion in support thereof, the y, the Court will reject the sh that the claim is unjust loss to the knowledge of'the Co. III EL. C. J., 100.
‘ession que l'assuré fait moins que ce transport pation de l’assureur.
: de droits acquis à titre uisuit. Elle est sujette nant la faillite, 1864.
e avec la chose assurte
3,— Angell, Zntr., 4 11, et # ) ot 77.
: remplacé par l'acte C3 nendé par 39 Vict., ce, 50 ct
le, dans une police d’assne la vente, est transporté de vente à la compagnie. Ie ndeur, sur une perte faite u prix d'achat restant due, 6e.— Leclaire vs Crapser, V
im on certain property, on » said sale T. ad insured ing the amount of purchase 1 manner with consent of 00, as security for payment uildings while covered by 6 £500, balance of purchase claim for purchase policy, , Who brought this action.— the contract of insurance as uch insurance being veste the sale, and acquiesces in
loss by fire may rocover, — Wilson vs State Fire Ins,
le transport de la matière le consentement exprès où C., 241,
ning from C, an advance of ble to C, for.any loss which irable interest in the goods, ne to the fuli extent of the
6 que du consentement de
l'assureur ; un avis de ce transport n’a pas l'effet de lier l’assureur.— Corse vs British American Ins. Co. IT KR. L., 735.
7, In the case of an assignment with the consent of the mortgagor of a mortage containing a covenant by the assignor to transfer to tha assignee as collateral security a policy of insurance then held by the assignor on the buildings existing on the property mortgaged, the failure by the assignee to secure such transfer, and the consequent reception by the assignor of the insurance money under the policy, would not entitle the mortgagor to claim from the assignee the discharge of the mortgage.— Robert & Macdonald, XIX L, C, J., 90.
8, Action for $800, amount of a fire policy. Plea, that the property insured was, . after the issue of the policy, sold for taxes under the Municipal Code, and the
owvership having become vested in the purchaser, the insured had lost all
insurable interest therein. Special answer, that the municipal sale never finally divested the insured of the ownership; that before the fire he had, under the provisions of the Municipal Code, redeemed his property, and had never ceased to have an insurable interest in it—Held that the sale of the property for municipal taxes under the Municipal Code, followed as it was by the redemption ofthe property in accordance with the said Code, was not such an alienation as would void the policy either under the conditions endorsed upor it, or under the provisions of article 2576 of the Civil Code.— Paquet vs Citizens’ Ins, Co., IV , L R., 230.
A loss under a fire policy effected hy an official assignee under the Insolvent Act of 1875, to whom an assignment had been made under this Act, is recoverable by the assignee subsequently elected by the creditors, notwithstanding that in the policy the assured is described simply as “Official Assignee,” the loss being made payable to the estate so assigned to him. Such loss may be so rccovered, notwithstanding that the fire shall have occurred after the appointment of the second assignee, and that his appointment had not been specially communicated to the insurance company before the fire. Under the circumstances of this case, there was not any change either of ownership or possession. Hlliott & The National Ins. Co., XXIII L. C. J., 12.
2577. La cession d'intérêt entre coassociés ou copropriétaires d'immeubles, qui ont assuré conjointement, ne rend pas la police nulle.
257%. L'assureur est responsable des dommages causés par l'assuré autres que ceux résultant de sa fraude ou de sa négligence grossière.
Angoll, 122 et suiv.— Alauzet, 431.— Boudousquié, n° 294, pp. 340 et suiv.— 3 Kent, p. 374, n. ce.
2579. L'assureur est aussi responsable des dommages causés par la faute des serviteurs de l'assuré hors de la connaissance et sans le consentement de ce «dernier,
Suprà, art, 2578,
2580. L'assureur est responsable de tous les dommages qui sont une conséquence immédiate du feu ou de la combustion, qu’elle qu'en soit la cause, y compris le dommage essuyé par les effets assurés en les transportant, où par les moyens employés pour tteinve le feu, sauf les exceptions spéciales contenues dans la police.
Anvoll, 42 115,122 at suiv.— 2 Pardessus, n° 595, pp. 493, 586 et 607.— Quenault, A, n° 66, p, 56, et index 511.— Alauzet, Ass, 451.— Boudousquié, Ass, n° 294, pr. ‘40 et suiv.— 3 Kent, Com., p. 374, n, e.—1 Phillips, ns, 375.— Clarke, Digest of Fire Ins, Dec, p. 571, #4 2 et 5.— 2 Alauzet, p. 380.— Grun et Galiat, p. 295.— 19 U.S, Digest, p. 401, 4 39, Tilton vs Hamilton F, Ins. Co., 1 Bosw. (N. Y.) 367. — 91 do., p. 312, 4 24, New-Mark vs Liverpool &e, Ins. Co., 30 Miss, 9 Jones, 160,
Jurisp.— 1. Une assurance contre le feu effectuée sur une certaine quantité de charbon, couvre le charbon qui existait alors et celui apporté depuis, et s'étend aux risques provenant de la combustion spontanée du charbon, — British American Ins, Co. & Joseph, IX L. C. R., 448.
2. Under the terms of a contract between insurers and insured, whereby the insurers insure against loss or damage by fire, the insurers are liable for lose C3 at ee by goods stolen at a fire.— McGibbon vs Queen Ins, Co, X
le Jet , “émtle
3. En l'absence de preuve suffisante que certaines marchandises, dont la valeur est réclamée en vertu d’une police d'assurance, ont été détruites ou en. dommagées par le feu, ou volées, cetta réclamation ne peut pas être payéo— Harris vs London & Lancashire Fire Ins. Co., X L. C. J., 268. ;
4, A policy of insurance contained the following condition endorsed upon it viz: “The company will not be answerable for any loss or damage by fire occasioned by earthquakes or hurricanes, or by burning of forests; and this
licy shall remain suspended and of no effect in respect of any loss or damäge lhonever caused) which shall happen or arise during the existence of any of the contingencies aforesaid.” Such a clause is legal, and in order to exempt the company from liability, it is only necessary to prove that at the time‘of the los the neighboring forests were burning.— Commercial Union Ass. Co. & Canada Iron Mining &c. Co., XVIII L, C. J., 80.
2581. L'assureur n’est pas responsable des pertes causées seule. ment par l’excessive chaleur d’une fournaise, d’un poêle ou autre mode de communiquer la chaleur, lorsqu'il n’y a pas combustion ou ignition actuelle de la chose assurée.
Pothier, 4se., c. 1.--2 Pardessus, Dr. Com., pp. 44 ot 495.— Eïlis, (Shaw's), p. 77.— Angell, 111, 112, 115, 116 et suiv.— 1 Bell, Com., 540 et 541.
2582. Dans le cas de perte par le feu, l'assureur est responsable du montant entier de la perte, pourvu qu’il n'excède pas la somme assurée, sans aucune déduction ni contribution.
1 Phillips, /ns., 375.— 1 Bell, Com., 543.
Jurisp.— 1. In insurance against fire the insurers pay the whole of any loss which does not exceed the amount insured, although the goods insurul bo of greater value.— Peddie vs Quebec Fire Insurance, Stuart’s Rep., 174.
2. Un assuré a droit de recouvrer d’une compagnie d'assurance qui a assuré son fonds de commerce, la valeur de tel fonds sur les marchés lors de sa destruction par le feu; et non seulement le prix coûtant d’icelui, ou la somme que la confection des effets peut avoir coûtée à l'assuré, nonobstant que les profits sur l’objet assuré n'avaient pas été assurés — The Equitable Fire Ins. Co. vs Quinn, XI L, (. R., 170.
2583. Lorsque par les conditions de la police il est accordé un délai pour le paiement de la prime de renouvellement, l'assurance subsiste, et s’il survient un sinistre pendant ce délai, l'assureur en est responsable, en déduisant le montant de la prime due.
Ellis (Shaw’s), ph: 119 et suiv.— Angell, 4 51.— Marshall, 799 et RO0.— 2 Par.
dessus, n° 596.— Bell, Com., pp. 540-1, 4 3.— Mais voir Ellis, 249 et suiv., cause d Want vs Blunt, (Life Ins.).— 12 East, 183,
25#4. L'assureur, en payant l'indemnité, a droit à la cession des droits de l’assuré contre ceux qui ont causé le feu ou la perte.
Eilis (Shaw’s), p. 112, n° 1.— Marshall, 796.— 2 Pardessus, Dr, Com., n° 55, pp. 498-9 et 500, quant à la subrogation pleno jure.
Jurisp.— 1. Les assureurs contre le feu ont droit, en payant la perte cotverte par leur police, d'être subrogés aux droits et actions de l'assuré, contre
tuée sur une certaine quantité s et celui apporté depuis, et on spontanée du Garon e rs and insured, whereby the insurers are liable for loss Gibbon vs Queen Ins, Co, X
aines marchandises, dont la nce, ont été détruites on en.
in ne peut pas être payée . C. J., 268.
condition endorsed upon it any loss or damage by fire burning of forests; and this pect of any loss or damige ring the existence of any of 1, and in order to exempt the ve that at tho time of the loss ial Union Ass, Co. & Canada
des pertes causées seule.
Le d’un poêle ou autre 1 n’y a pas combustion
4 ot 495.— Ellis, (Shaw's), p.
n., 540 et 541.
"assureur est responsable l n'excède pas la somme tion.
irers pay the whole of any |, although the goods insurel rance, Stuart’s Rep., 174.
mpagnie d'assurance qui a nds sur les marchés lors de coûtant d’icelui, ou la somme uré, nonobstant que les profits e Equitable Fire Ins. Co, vs
à police il est accordé un ouvellement, l'assurance nt ce délai, l'assureur en e la prime due.
Marshall, 799 et S00.— 2 Par nir Ellis, 249 et suiv., cause de ité, a droit à la cession
causé le feu ou la perte.
Pardessus, Dr, Com., n° 515,
droit, en payant la perte cout actions de l'assuré, contre
coux qui ont causé le feu et la perte. Un marguillier en charge qui a pouvoir de recevoir des assureurs le montant de l'assurance effectuée sur la propriété de la Fabrique et d’en donner quittance, peut aussi subroger les assureurs aux droits et actions de la Fabrique contre ceux qui ont causé le feu et la perte, quoiqu'il ne puisse transporter, au moyen d’une vente, tels droits et actions sans une autorisation spéciale. Les assureurs, subrogés, au moyen du paiement de la perte, aux droits et actions de l'assuré pour une partie de la perte seulement, ont pour telle partie une action contro ceux qui ont tausé le fou et la perte en question.— Quebec Fire Ins. Co. & Molson, I L. C, K., 222,
9, The hypothèque upon a thing does not pass to the indemnity in the hands of an insurer against fire.— Bélanger vs McCarthy, XVIII L, C, J., 138.